MeanwhileJessie

Arrival! Part~2

2 Comments

Hello lovelies!

You wouldn’t BELIEVE how crazy it’s been around here.

Except for this morning while I woke up at 6 doomed to stay in the apartment for 4 hours while everybody is asleep and the wifi is down, and the only thing to do is watch tv in a language I know not of, and did you know that watching tv is kind of an uncomfortable experience for me if I do it for more than 30 minutes?

 

Am I alone on this?

 

Oh, okay. 

 

I couldn’t explore the city because I didn’t have a key and would unfortunately be locked out.

 

Needless to say, the windows are fully looked at, I still can’t do a handstand, there is an actual puppet show on tv, and the apartment is pretty darn clean.

 

 

 

Also, BLOG POST.

 

Okay, moving on.

 

Welcome to the second and final part of what my adventure arriving in Taiwan was like!

 

 

Okay, so unfortunately I was still on the plane.

 

This is a selfie of how I felt about the flight btw.

 

But now that the windows were all finally opened because people were finally waking up, I feasted my eyes on awesome view.

Blackness.

And lots of it.

With cute little lights that meant it was a city!

And I’ve seen cities from airplanes before, but I’d never seen TAIWAN city.

 

Or a city that I will LIVE in and had to jump through some pretty ridiculous hoops to stay in.

 

When we finally landed, I locked eyes with my fellow foreign exchange friend, and we exchanged looks that meant, “I thought we would never land” 

 

Waiting in line to get off the plane, I thought I would feel differently.

 

I was still excited, but I think I was more excited to be standing up than arriving in Taiwan.

If you’ve been on an incredibly long flight I think you’d understand.

 

When I was getting off the plane, us exchange students automatically regrouped and talked about what the plan was.

 

Are we awesome or what?

 

We got off the plane, and then my friend who I made on my second flight (born and raised in Taiwan) walked with us.

 

We said our goodbyes and well wishes, and then it was just us.

The foreigners.

No, the awesome foreigners.

Minutes away from meeting our host families!

We went through customs, and got our luggage and found more exchange students!

 

We were MULITPLYING.

 

Haha just kidding.

 

Everyone exchanged business cards except me because I decided to forget where mine were and not be able to give anybody anything.

 

Nice going Jessie.

 

After walking clear to the other side of the airport

 

We heard people meeting people!

 

WE WERE CLOSE TO MEETING THE HOST FAMILIES.

Now I was extremely nervous and excited.

 

Since we are all in different clubs, we parted ways, off to find our families!

 

Screams!

 

Lots of them.

Oh, everyone found their families!

 

Where is mine?

 

Uhhhh….

 

*walking around awkwardly*

 

Uhhhhh…..

 

*More walking around*

 

UHHHH….


Am I in the right place?

 

So after walking around blindly for a while, I found some people mulling around and talking.

 

I pretended like I didn’t see them, but to make sure they were in fact my club or not, I walked close enough that they could see me but far enough away to not look as desperate as I felt.

 

(Classic girl move haha)

 

They saw me!

 

 

 

 AND KNEW MY NAME

 

YUSSS.

 

I recognized 2 of the people and assumed they were my new parents.

 

They were! And I hugged the mom, and shook hands with my host brother and host dad.

 

I was hot and sweaty, and wearing a portable sauna (My Rotary blazer)

Also my hair was messy and I probably looked like a zombie.

 

But they didn’t seem to mind and that was nice:) 

 

They started rapidly talking in Chinese with each other and it was awkward standing there and knowing nothing of what they were saying.

 

And let me tell you guys.

 

It’s still is pretty awkward when everyone around you is in a conversation and you can’t even join in because you have in idea what they’re saying.

 

Being an extrovert that’s been something I’ve had to really get used to.

 

Sometimes I have to be a wallflower.

 

And other times I need to use my super strength hearing to understand what the heck they’re saying in Engrish.

 

But I used that awko taco time take a picture!

One time everyone was looking at me and asked me a question and I answered in Chinese (just thank you) 

And they all gasped and applauded.

It was AWESOME.

 

After many photos and and people asking me if I’m hungry, we were off to my new home!

 

It was a 40 minute drive from the airport, and I sat in the back of the car with my host brother, who knows barely any English at all.

 

The parents were talking in Chinese, my host bro was looking out the window, I was still super hot and sweaty, and surrounded by words I do not know, and places I had never seen.

 

It was wonderful.

 

And a good reminder that I need to remember to enjoy every single minute of this ‘Amazing once in a lifetime-people usually only dream of doing’ year that was ahead of me.

 

When we arrived to the apartment, they showed me where the bathroom, the kitchen and where my room was.

And left me be to calm down and get settled in.

 

Once I was settled in, I went out to the living room and hung out for a bit.

 

My mom was very welcoming and said to ask of I have a question, and I should go to sleep because I must be exhausted.

 

So I said goodnight and while laying in my new (humongo) bed, I realized that

 

“Man, I’ve got it good.”

 

And I do.

 

Much love,

Blog signature

 

 

 

Author: Jessie Lee

I travel, laugh and blog a lot. I'm on a mission to become an Epic human being.

2 thoughts on “Arrival! Part~2

  1. Great reading all the details! How fun to relive that first day with you on here. Love your way of looking at things and love you more.

  2. Exciting and fun to follow your adventure Jessie!!

Leave a Reply

